American Idol Finalist Prediction

Adam Lambert, American Idol Contestant

Adam Lambert, American Idol Contestant

Allison Iraheta, American Idol Contestant

Allison Iraheta, American Idol Contestant

After last night’s elimination of Scott MacIntyre, I am ready to predict who will be the final two contestants. Adam Lambert is the most original and versatile of all the contestants, and as Randy said about Allison, she can “sing her face off!”
This does not mean I don’t like the other finalists still “alive” in the competition or even some already voted off. As America decided last year between the two David’s – which one had the power to move us – I think pop music lovers will make the right decision this year. My vote goes for Adam Lambert, but I would be happy with Allison (and yes, she does remind me of Kelly Clarkson but I think she is even better… Allison has more voice control, a greater emotional range.)
The filmmakers of “The Twilight Saga: New Moon” (“Twilight” is a franchise now!) should just hire Adam Lambert to do the whole sound track.
Actually I like Lil Rounds a lot, but she is inconsistent. Matt is a contender… but personally, I am listening for voices that give me goose bumps, like David Cook did last year (and last week). So far, only Adam Lambert and Allison Iraheta have “the power to move me.”
Truly, American Idol, once the competition starts, is one of my favorite shows. I love it when young people do well, reach inside for courage and heart, and uplift audiences with their God-given talents and art.
Agree, disagree, don’t care?
“To sing is to pray twice.”
“Music is the mediator between the spiritual and the sensual life.”  ~Ludwig van Beethoven
“Music is the shorthand of emotion.”  ~Leo Tolstoy
There’s a scene in Stephen Herek’s 1995 film Mr. Holland\’s Opus that still takes my breath away every time I think about it. He is meeting with a student who wants to quit playing the clarinet. Here’s a bit of the conversation:
Mr. Glenn Holland: Let me ask you a question. When you look in the mirror, what do you like best about yourself?
Gertrude Lang: My hair.
Mr. Glenn Holland: Why?
Gertrude Lang: Well, my father always says that it reminds him of the sunset.
Mr. Glenn Holland: Play the sunset….
mrholand

Richard Dreyfuss and Alicia Witt in “Mr. Holland’s Opus”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment