Chapel of Violence against Women in Our Lady of Angels Cathedral March 2009

The Chapel of Violence Against Women from the art of J. Michael Walker

The Chapel of Violence Against Women from the art of J. Michael Walker

The Cathedral here in LA had a side chapel (temporary) called THE CHAPEL OF VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN set up in March (as well as several other chapels, all with the amazing art of J. Michael Walker.)  

There was a poster on the wall that impressed me and it quoted something called “Corrido de Santa Susana”:

 “The years pass, yet there are men  who do not understand that women also have the right to live as they choose, and to think and believe as they see fit.”

 IMG_0302

If anyone happens to know what the “Corrido de Santa Susana” is or where I can find it in its entirety, please let me know.

 I googled it, both the name and the quote, but nothing came up.

Here is J. Michael Walker’s website and the recent exhibitions at the Our Lady of Angeles Cathedral in Los Angeles

If you love Los Angeles and art, you will love his work.

All the Saints of Los Angeles website

2 Comments

  1. Women have been subjected to violence throughout history, and although this horrendous action is condemned by all societies, it is still prevalent in many, especially the third world countries. In a survey carried out by the World Health Organization (WHO) in 2005, out of the ten counties surveyed, more than 50 percent of women in Bangladesh, Ethiopia, Peru and Tanzania reported having been subjected to physical or sexual violence by intimate partners, with figures reaching a staggering 71 percent in rural Ethiopia. Only in Japan, less than 20 percent of women report incidents of domestic violence.

  2. Greetings,
    I am the artist and author of All the Saints of the City of the Angels.
    I am pleased that you were moved by my installation at Our Lady of Angels Cathedral.
    I was gratified that the Church permitted me to install my work as various chapels, including this one.
    I composed the Corrido of Santa Susana.
    You can find it in full in my book, All the Saints of the City of the Angels (Heyday Books, 2008).
    With best wishes,
    jmichael


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment